Darryl Coote


Darryl Coote is a partner of the TEAM OF PIANISTS, Artists-in-Residence at the National Trust (Victoria). His professional life encompasses activity as solo pianist, chamber musician, concerto soloist, teacher and adjudicator.

He studied piano with Max Cooke at the University of Melbourne, where he completed his studies for Bachelor of Music with Honours and subsequently Master of Music, then later with Kurt Bauer at the Musikhochschule, Hanover. He was the first winner of the national Hephzibah Menuhin Memorial Scholarship and was Victorian State winner of the ABC Instrumental and Vocal Competition.

Darryl has appeared in concert in all states of Australia as well as in many of Victoria’s metropolitan and regional venues. During the past fifteen years, he has presented programmes in the highly-acclaimed series TWILIGHT CHAMBER MUSIC AT RIPPON LEA. An all-round ensemble performer, he often performs piano duets with Max Cooke, as well as major two-piano works with Robert Chamberlain.

He is a sought-after chamber musician and accompanist, having worked with artists such as Anne Gilby (oboe), David Thomas (clarinet), Sally-Anne Russell (mezzo soprano), Kristy Conrau (cello), Rohan de Korte (cello), Josephine Vains (cello), Judith Hickel (violin), Charles Castleman (violin), Miwako Abe (violin) and Brian Hansford (baritone).

Darryl has recorded and broadcast extensively on Australian radio networks, including ABC Classic FM and 3MBS FM. He features on all nine CDs produced by the TEAM OF PIANISTS, having recorded Bruch’s Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra with Robert Chamberlain and the New Monash Orchestra conducted by André de Quadros.


Darryl Coote is an experienced teacher, examiner and adjudicator, and is a member of the piano faculty at Monash University. He has adjudicated major Eisteddfods interstate and has given masterclasses in Malaysia, in Germany, in China, in various universities around Australia, as well as at Boston University (USA), at the Eastman School of Music (USA) and at the Kunitachi Academy in Tokyo (Japan).

Together with Max Cooke, he is one of the co-founders and an adjudicator of the Australian National Piano Award and he was secretary of the Organising Committee for the Australasian Piano Pedagogy Conference (Melbourne, July 2003). He has recently accepted the office of President of the Victorian Music Teachers’ Association.